Sunday, 5 November 2017

Default Directories in Account Directory


Account directory contains several default subdirectories. 
public_html: web owner uploads the Internet visible visitor files
  • webalizer 
  • modlogan
logs include directories for every site with transfer log. Log files contain write and read data about the visits to your sites.

Virtual FTP directory: Its name is the dedicated IP address. It's created by enabling Virtual FTP Server and 
can be accessed by virtual FTP users to list and download its content.

Subdomain directories: It's created when a subdomain added. A new directory created with the subdomain name as the directory name.

The ssl.conf directory. This directory has contained SSL pairs for all encrypted sites.

Please, Don't delete ANY default directories in your root directory, as this will cause malfunctions of your account. As a rule of thumb, you may remove only directories and files you have uploaded yourselves or that have been uploaded by any of your Virtual FTP and Anonymous FTP users.

Deleting the Logs directory will cause the loss of the web statistics accumulated in the course of your site operation.

Deleting Virtual FTP directories will cause incorrect operation of Virtual FTP. However, you may harmlessly delete individual files in these directories.

If you delete a subdomain directory, internet visitors will get the 404 "File not found" error when attempting to access the subdomain.

Deleting the ssl.conf directory will result in incorrect SSL operation.

Whenever possible, upload your site using the utilities that come with your website development software. For instance, if you made your site with SiteStudio, FrontPage or Dreamweaver, use their integrated web publishing tools. If you made your site with simple text editors, or if your site-building software does not have a publishing utility, use freestanding FTP clients, such as CuteFTP, SmartFTP, or the built-in web-based FTP agent.

Well, it is there, that site publishing tools don't remove your old web content from the server. For instance, if you used SiteStudio to upload a site with 30 pages, and later you published an updated 10-page version of this site, your directory on the server will have all the new pages and the old pages that haven't been overwritten. If you publish many versions of the website, the site may become cluttered with old files.

No comments:

Post a Comment